In Georgia, it is important to understand that theft laws make it illegal to take property from another party through the threat or use of force. There may be questions out there concerning what types of circumstances may constitute robbery in Georgia, and it is important to understand the criminal charges associated with robbery.
An accused individual may be charged with robbery in Georgia if they have been accused of taking money or property from another party against that party’s will through violence, force, intimidation or threats of violence or the use of force. Armed robbery charges may be brought against an accused individual if they are accused of taking money, property or something of value from another party by force or threats of bodily harm but do so using a weapon. Additional robbery charges may also apply depending on the circumstances.
The penalties for robbery charges may be harsh and probation may be denied, a stay or suspension of sentence or a deferral of a sentence may all be denied in circumstances of robbery charges. Both robbery and armed robbery charges are felony charges. Robbery charges can be punished by 1 to 20 years in prison, and armed robbery may be punished by 5 to 20 years in prison. Harsher penalties may also apply if the victim is older than 65-years old. Because of the harsh nature of the criminal penalties associated with robbery charges, accused individuals should be familiar with their criminal defense rights.
Criminal defense rights help protect individuals accused of a crime in a variety of ways. As a result, it is important for accused individuals to understand how to protect themselves and enforce their rights throughout the criminal justice process.
Source: Statelaws.findlaw.com, “Georgia Robbery Laws,” Accessed June 4, 2017