If police arrest you for a DUI in Georgia, you can expect to face strict penalties. While jail time and fines for DUIs are common in all states, a new study has found that in Georgia you face some of the toughest consequences after getting a DUI.
According to a study by a law office in Utah, Georgia has the third toughest DUI penalties in the country. The study compared statistics of all 50 states and the District of Columbia to find out how each state ranked in punishing DUIs.
Study ranked the strictness of each separate state
The study ranked each state’s penalties out of a possible hundred points. Georgia landed at third with 69.3 points. Minnesota was the strictest, at 76.7 points, with Utah in second at 69.4. Meanwhile, South Dakota ranked as the least strict at 20.1 points.
The study assigned points based on how many crashes and arrests each state had along with the laws in each state. The tougher the DUI laws, the more points a state received.
Penalties for a DUI in Georgia
Even for a first offense, you can face tough penalties for a DUI in Georgia. A judge can sentence you to jail for up to a year and fine you up to $1,000. And even if you don’t serve a full year in jail, you will be placed on probation. You will have to serve at least 40 hours of community service and pay to attend an education course. And the Georgia Department of Driver Services can suspend your license for up to a year.
If you have prior DUI convictions, the court can give you even stiffer penalties.
A DUI can affect you for life
A DUI conviction can mean harsh penalties for you. The time spent in jail or with community service can affect your current job. And a criminal record can affect your ability to find a new job. If you face DUI charges, contact an attorney to see if you can reduce or remove the charges.