Because of the seriousness of drunk driving charges, individuals may wonder what penalties are possible following impaired driving charges in Georgia. Penalties for impaired driving in Georgia can depend on the number of drunk driving offenses an individual has had. For a first impaired driving offense, an individual may face jail time up to one year; a fine ranging from $300 to $1,000; license suspension up to one year; a minimum mandatory amount of community service; and a license reinstatement fee.
Willful possession of certain drugs is a crime in the state of Georgia. Charges of drug possession also include the possession of drug paraphernalia. In some cases, the possession of substances that are used to make certain illegal substances can also lead to drug charges.
In Georgia, credit cards are the preferred source of money, rather than cash. The convenience of plastic has overweighed the threats to personal information. However, it is important to protect personal information whenever possible. What can be done when a credit reporting agency is breached?
Though many strides have been made to stop the frequency of drunk driving in Georgia, it is still a program that occurs more frequently than desired. According the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA), alcohol-induced impaired driving costs $37 billion each year. In 2012 alone, more than 10,000 people died in drunk driving accidents. This equates to a car accident every 51 minutes in the United States.
October is Domestic Violence Awareness month in Georgia and throughout the United States. Purple is the color utilized to recognize this important effort. By highlighting the negative effects of domestic violence, advocates hope to eradicate domestic abuse. As many Georgians focus on domestic violence, there are high profile individuals that are being accused of abuse.