Fight For Your License When You Face DUI Charges
The penalties for driving under the influence (DUI) are harsh in Georgia. You may face jail time even for a first offense. You may also face fines, probation, community service and a suspension of your license. A skilled DUI attorney will help you fight these charges and minimize the penalties you face. You do have options and you do have hope. And you do have ways of protecting your license.
The Law Firm of Christopher T. Adams, P.C., has been serving clients in the north Atlanta area since 1992. Our lead attorney, Chris Adams, understands your DUI charges and knows how to help you protect your driver’s license during this process.
Administrative Hearings Regarding Your License
Georgia law states that when you receive a citation for DUI, you receive a temporary license for 45 days, along with a notice that they will suspend your license after 45 days. You have 30 days to appeal your suspension in an administrative hearing where you can defend your ability to drive. You may also have the option of installing an ignition interlock device. Your criminal case also determines the outcome of a license suspension.
If your suspension is due to your refusal to take a blood alcohol test, the suspension will last 12 months. You may also challenge a suspension based on refusal to test within 30 days. We will fight the license suspension on your behalf, no matter the reason.
Commercial Drivers Face Higher Standards
If you drive for a living and hold a commercial driver’s license (CDL), you must follow tougher rules and regulations than the average driver. Your BAC limit is .04 percent when you are driving a commercial vehicle. You could face a one-year suspension of your CDL for a first-offense DUI. You need an experienced DUI attorney to protect your license and your livelihood. We will fight for you to keep your CDL and job.