Providing Answers To Your DUI Questions
The consequences for a DUI arrest in Georgia can be severe. It is therefore important to have on your side an experienced criminal defense lawyer who understands the laws pertaining to our state.
The Law Firm of Christopher T. Adams, P.C., in Lawrenceville, provides aggressive representation for those facing DUI charges. Attorney Christopher Adams has provided this representation throughout the Atlanta area since 1992.
How Does Georgia Define A DUI?
Georgia law prohibits driving under the influence (DUI) of drugs or alcohol with a blood alcohol concentration of 0.08 percent. For those under the age of 21, it is only necessary to show a blood alcohol concentration of 0.02 for a DUI arrest to occur. You also may face arrest if an officer feels that you are unable to operate your vehicle safely due to impairment because of the use of alcohol or drugs.
What Are The Penalties For A DUI Conviction?
A DUI in Georgia can lead to either misdemeanor or felony charges. In either instance, you could possibly be facing jail time. Even a first-time offense for DUI can result in up to one-year imprisonment. A first-time offense also could lead to fines of up to $1,000 and/or a license suspension of up to one year.
For subsequent arrests, the penalties become increasingly harsher. A second offense could lead to a license suspension of up to three years, and a third offense could lead to a license suspension of five years. You may be able to hold on to your license, however, if there is an installation of an ignition interlock device in your motor vehicle. A fourth offense could lead to five years’ imprisonment, fines of up to $5,000 and an indefinite suspension of your license.
If bodily injuries occur during an accident that results in a DUI arrest, courts may take into consideration additional factors in sentencing. For this reason, it is important to have an attorney on your side who can provide you all of your legal options when facing either your first DUI arrest or a subsequent arrest.
Are You Required To Submit To A Blood Or Breathalyzer Test?
While officers cannot force you to submit to one of these tests, the refusal to do so could result in a fine and automatic license suspension. Under Georgia’s implied consent law, the officer must read you the penalties for not complying with such tests. The failure to provide this notice can make the test results inadmissible in court. However, simply because the officer does provide the notice does not automatically mean that test results will be admissible. Any consent must be voluntary and not the result of some sort of coercion.
What Is A Field Sobriety Test?
Arresting officers sometimes ask those they pull over to perform a number of tests to determine whether there is any driver impairment. This can include having the driver follow particular objects with their eyes, demonstrate that they can walk in a straight line or stand on one leg.
While such tests are used by officers to demonstrate impairment, there are a variety of factors unrelated to impairment that could prevent an individual from successfully completing these tests. For example, disability or age may be a factor. There are instances where evidence of these tests should not be submitted in court. An experienced DUI attorney can determine whether such tests were fairly administered.
Why Should I Use My One Phone Call To Contact A Lawyer?
When you are arrested for DUI, you have legal decisions to make right away and timing is critical. You should never talk to the police or answer any of their questions without an attorney present, especially after your arrest.
Contact Us To Learn More
When arrested for drunk driving, you need proven attorney representation on your side. Please contact our Lawrenceville office to learn more and discuss your matter in detail by calling 770-676-1083 or sending an email.