As a previous post highlighted, many people considered charges related to marijuana are minor when compared to other drug charges. However, this is not the case in Georgia and other states. While the laws surrounding marijuana differ from state to state, marijuana laws in Georgia have traditionally been quite strict.
While marijuana laws continually evolve in all the states, allowing for medicinal and personal use in a few locations, the legal usage in Georgia is minimal. Currently, limited usage is allowed for eligible patients to use cannabis oil with a low percentage of THC. Thus, if an individual is not an eligible patient or is caught with marijuana in other forms, he or she could face serious penalties, if convicted.
Depending on where one is charged, some counties allow for alternative sentencing. This means that the offender could go through treatment in lieu of jail. But, if a defendant is accused of possessing more than one ounce of marijuana, he or she will be charged with a felony. This could result in a penalty of one to 10 years.
If an individual is charged with the possession of one ounce or less, this is a misdemeanor charge and could result in one year in jail or a fine of $1000. But, if an individual is in possession of 10 pounds or more of marijuana, this is considered trafficking. This is a felony charge and carries with it a five to 15 years in prison and a mandatory $100,000 to $1,000,000 fine, depending on the amount.
Those facing a marijuana charge should understand its seriousness. Exploring criminal defense options is the best way to reduce or get the charge dismissed. Seeking legal guidance can help.
Source: FindLaw.com, “Georgia Marijuana Laws,” accessed on Jan. 27, 2018