Underage drinking and driving laws can be especially serious, which is why young people, their parents and others may wonder what the underage drunk driving laws are in Georgia. There are different standards for what is considered driving under the influence for drivers who are under the legal drinking age. Because the legal limit to drive is so much lower for underage drinkers, it is important to be familiar with the differences in the law.
For underage drivers, the level at which a driver is considered impaired in Georgia is 0.02 blood alcohol content or higher. For drivers over age 21, they can face DUI charges if driving with a blood alcohol content level of 0.08 or higher. The penalties and consequences for underage drunk driving in Georgia can be significant. For a first time offense, the accused underage individual is charged with a misdemeanor and is required to participate in an alcohol risk reduction program, could receive a fine up to $1,000, could face time in jail up to 12 months and may receive up to 40 hours of community service.
In addition, Georgia has a mandatory use and lose law. This law can impose driving restrictions on individuals who are under the age of 21 who attempt to buy, possess or consume alcohol ,and in Georgia driving restrictions are mandatory and are imposed when an underage individual attempts to buy, possess or consume alcohol. Drunk driving charges, including underage drunk driving charges, are always serious and should never be taken lightly.
All criminal defense resources are available to individuals accused of underage drunk driving. It is always important that individuals accused of driving while intoxicated are familiar with their criminal defense rights and how to respond, as so much is on the line when facing drunk driving charges.
Source: DUI.findlaw.com, “DUI Under 21 Laws by State,” Accessed April 3, 2017