There are a variety of consequences and penalties associated with drunk driving that can include jail time, fines, license suspension or an ignition interlock device. Because ignition interlock devices are a potential consequence of drunk driving charges, it is important to understand what one is and how it is used. Ignition interlock devices are mechanical devices installed in the dashboard of vehicles and are used to limit drunk driving.
Many people have heard of blood alcohol concentration, or content, levels but may have wondered what BAC specifically refers to. It is important to understand what blood alcohol concentration levels are because BAC is commonly used in drunk driving charges and is an important part of the criminal justice system.
Georgia has an implied consent law and because of this, it is important to understand that implied consent laws can present serious consequences for individuals who are accused of drunk driving. Because of the important impact of implied consent laws, Georgia residents may wonder what an implied consent law is and what its implications are. Implied consent laws are implicated when a driver is pulled over for suspected drunk driving and asked to take a breathalyzer test.
Driving under the influence accusations, allegations and charges are always serious, however, they can be especially serious for young people facing underage drinking charges. In Georgia, the blood alcohol content level to be considered as driving under the influence is 0.08. For drivers under the age of 21, the blood alcohol content level to be considered as driving under the influence is lowered to 0.02.
Drivers who have been accused of drunk driving face many challenges ahead and may wonder how to reinstate their driver's license following a DUI which can result in a driver's license suspension. In Georgia, a driver's first DUI charge in a 5 year period will result in license suspension for 12 months. License reinstatement, however, may be possible if certain conditions are met for drivers over the age of 21.
Because of the seriousness of drunk driving charges, individuals may wonder what penalties are possible following impaired driving charges in Georgia. Penalties for impaired driving in Georgia can depend on the number of drunk driving offenses an individual has had. For a first impaired driving offense, an individual may face jail time up to one year; a fine ranging from $300 to $1,000; license suspension up to one year; a minimum mandatory amount of community service; and a license reinstatement fee.
Though many strides have been made to stop the frequency of drunk driving in Georgia, it is still a program that occurs more frequently than desired. According the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA), alcohol-induced impaired driving costs $37 billion each year. In 2012 alone, more than 10,000 people died in drunk driving accidents. This equates to a car accident every 51 minutes in the United States.
It is well known that drinking and driving is discouraged in our society. However, this is not the only form of distracted driving. Texting, eating and talking are other behaviors that make Georgia highways unsafe for drivers and pedestrians alike. Distracted driving has caused Georgia to have a rise in highway fatalities for the first time in nine years.
It has been stated before, but is worth stating again: Georgia takes driving while under the influence of drugs and alcohol seriously. The penalties for being adjudicated guilty can vary in severity and have negative long term consequences on a citizen's ability to earn a living.
Summer is a time for making good memories with family and friends. This past week a family from out of state made a memory that they wish they could forget. A devastating car crash caused by an alleged drunk driver has forever altered the composition of one family. A 20-year-old now faces several DUI charges for the accident.