Driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol is illegal in every state. However, states have different penalties for first-time DUI offenses. Most people don’t want to receive a DUI because of the long-term impacts it can have on their driving freedoms, employment prospects and finances.
Here in Georgia, a DUI is considered a criminal offense and those who are found guilty can face legal repercussions.
These are the consequences of a first-time DUI offense in the state:
- Face between 10 days and 12 months of imprisonment. In some instances, a judge can limit sentences to 24 hours.
- Pay a fine between $300-$1000.
- Perform at least 40 hours of community service.
- Participate in a drug and alcohol reduction program.
- Face one year of license suspension.
Penalties can increase depending on a person’s level of consumption. Higher BAC levels often lead to harsher sentences.
DUIs can have long-term effects
No matter the circumstance, a DUI can be a severe offense if those accused are found guilty. For those charged with driving under the influence, an experienced criminal defense attorney in the state of Georgia can help examine the facts in their case and represent them in court.