Having a driver's license can be important for daily life and for getting to work. If a license has been suspended because of a DUI charge, it can be important for the accused individual to understand the license reinstatement process. In Georgia, those convicted of Driving Under the Influence, possessing illegal drugs, underage possession of alcohol while operating a motor vehicle and some other charges are required to participate a DUI, Alcohol or Drug Use Risk Reduction program.
There are two components to the DUI, Alcohol or Drug Use Risk Reduction intervention program. The two components include an assessment component and an intervention component. To receive a certificate of completion, both components of the program must be successfully completed. The course is 20 hours long and can be completed in a week in many circumstances. In some circumstances, if the individual has had their license suspended as a result of two or more DUI convictions in the past ten years, they will be required to complete a clinical evaluation.
Any individual in Georgia, age 21 and older, convicted of driving under the influence is subject to having their driver's license suspended or revoked for between 120 days and 5 years. The duration of the suspension or revocation depends on the individual's driving record. The penalties and consequences of DUI charges can include criminal and administrative penalties and consequences and can have a significant impact on the accused individual's life. It is possible to fight DUI charges and to obtain a license reinstatement.
The criminal justice process provides resources to help individuals facing DUI charges challenge the charges against them. Depending on the circumstances, it may be possible to reduce or eliminate the charges and to have a license reinstated. Because the options available depend on the specific circumstances of the accused individual's situation, it is helpful to be familiar with the different resources and options available and have trained guidance throughout the process.
Source: Georgia Department of Driver Services, "DUI FAQs," Accessed April 8, 2017