Many people believe that using marijuana responsibly isn't a bad thing and doesn't make you a bad person. In fact, the nonprofit advocacy group NORML is a strong voice on behalf of marijuana users nationwide. This group has been lobbying for the legalization of marijuana since 1970.
Nevertheless, many states still consider those who smoke weed recreationally to be criminals who deserve time behind bars. Georgia is one of these states.
You're In Danger Of Jail Time And Heavy Fines
Here in Georgia, having less than an ounce of pot in your possession is a misdemeanor offense, even if it's for your own personal use. If you are convicted, you could face up to one year in jail and up to $1,000 in fines. If you're found with more than an ounce, it's considered a felony. Prison time can range from one year to 10 years.
Possession with intent to distribute is automatically a felony crime, carrying between one and 30 years of prison time, depending on the amounts involved.
Even having drug paraphernalia lying around is enough to put you behind bars. If the police discover pipes or bongs, you could face the same penalties as if you were actually found with marijuana.
You Can Also Lose Your Driver's License
If you are convicted of possession, you stand to lose your driving privileges for at least 180 days, even if this is your first offense. Plus, getting your license back means paying several hundred dollars in restoration fees.
Don't Ignore The Charges - Fight Back
It never makes sense to ignore the charges you face in hopes that they'll go away. They won't. Nor is it a good choice to simply plead guilty and accept whatever punishment the prosecution names. Instead, exercise your right to get an attorney on your side as soon as possible. An Atlanta-area lawyer skilled in these types of offenses can clearly explain your rights and fight for the best outcome possible under the facts of your case.