Drivers who have been accused of drunk driving face many challenges ahead and may wonder how to reinstate their driver's license following a DUI which can result in a driver's license suspension. In Georgia, a driver's first DUI charge in a 5 year period will result in license suspension for 12 months. License reinstatement, however, may be possible if certain conditions are met for drivers over the age of 21.
If the driver's license has been suspended for 120 days, the driver may complete an Alcohol or Drug Use Risk Reduction Program approved by the Department of Driver Services (DDS) and submit a Certificate of Completion to the DDS. The driver will also be required to pay the necessary reinstatement fee in person or by mail to have their driver's license reinstated.
It is important for drivers to note that Georgia's Implied Consent law requires drivers to submit to chemical tests administered by the state to determine if they are under the influence of drugs or alcohol. If a driver refuses required chemical testing, the driver's license will be suspended for one year at a minimum.
Because of the number of serious potential consequences and penalties associated with a DUI charge, it is important that individuals accused of a DUI understand their rights. One of the rights individuals accused of a DUI have is the right to present a defense to the charge they are facing. A strong criminal defense strategy, based on the circumstances, may help reduce or eliminate DUI charges altogether and help the accused individual better navigate the criminal justice process.
Source: Georgia Department of Driver Services, "Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)